# 2025 SCC/SWC Boys Ice Hockey Championship Game Notes

# **Matchups**

**Division I:** #1 Notre Dame-West Haven (11-10) vs. #2 Fairfield Prep (9-11-1) – 5:30 p.m. – Bennett Rink

**Division II:** #1 Amity Regional (15-4-2) vs. #2 East Haven co-op (18-2-1) – 8 p.m. – Bennett Rink

**Division III:** #1 BBDI co-op (12-6-3) vs. #2 JBWA co-op (14-5-2) – 4:30 p.m. – Danbury Ice Arena

### **Division I Notes**

- This is the 16<sup>th</sup> year of the SCC Division I playoffs. The SCC had a playoff from 1997 to 1999 and took a hiatus until 2012-13. Starting in 2013-14, the SCC and SWC merged their leagues and have held playoffs since then.
- Notre Dame and Fairfield Prep will meet in the championship game for the ninth time, including the third straight year.
- The teams were supposed to meet in the 2021 final, but COVID-19 quarantines cancelled the game.
- Fairfield Prep is 6-2 versus ND in the SCC finals, but the Green Knights won the last meeting in 2024.
- In the eight meetings, there have been three shoot-outs all won by Fairfield Prep (2016, 2020 and 2023).
- Fairfield Prep has the most SCC Division I playoff titles with six (1997, 2013, 2016, 2018, 2020 and 2023). Notre Dame has four titles (1995, 2015, 2022 and 2024).

# **Division II Notes**

- This is the 22<sup>nd</sup> Division II championship game. The SCC had a playoff from 1997 to 1999 and took a hiatus until 2006-07. The Division II playoff has been played since.
- Since the SCC merged with the SWC in 2013-14, SCC teams have won 11 straight Division II titles.

- Amity Regional and East Haven will meet for the first time in a SCC title game.
- East Haven has appeared in three SCC title games (winning in 1997 and 1998, losing in 2017).
- Amity Regional has appeared in four title games, including 2024. The Spartans were runner-ups in 2014 and 2010, and won the 2008 title.
- Nine different teams have won SCC Division II playoff titles, led by Branford (5), Cheshire (4) and North Haven (3). Guilford, Daniel Hand and East Haven have each won two titles, while Amity Regional, North Branford and Sheehan have one.

## **Division III Notes**

- This is the 12<sup>th</sup> year of the SCC/SWC Division III playoffs. This is the second year the finals will be played at Danbury Ice Arena.
- This will be the second time BBDI (formerly BBD) co-op and JBWA co-op will meet in the finals. In 2022, JBWA won 3-1 at Bennett Rink.
- BBDI won the 2024 title, defeating New Milford. BBDI is making its sixth championship appearance. It also won the 2021 title.
- JBWA is making its fourth championship appearance. It won the 2022 title, defeating BBD, 3-1.
- Six different teams have won Division III playoff titles, led by Sheehan's three (2020, 2019 and 2018). BBDI, Masuk and NFI each have won two, while Newtown has won one.