Saturday, May 15, 2021
Text Size

SCC News

Congratulations to the SCC's 2021 CIAC Scholar Athletes

Home Page

Congratulations to the SCC member schools' recipients of the CIAC Scholar-Athlete awards. 

The 38th annual CIAC Scholar-Athlete Awards will take place Sunday May 2. For the second straight year the event will be a virtual celebration broadcast on Fox61 at 6:30pm. The half hour television special will celebrate and feature photos of all 363 CIAC statewide scholar-athletes. Long time emcee, and 4-time Connecticut Sportscaster of the Year Bob Picozzi hosted.

The Scholar-Athlete Program annually recognizes two high school seniors from each member high school whose academic and athletic careers have been exemplary, whose personal standards and achievements are a model to others, and who possess high levels of integrity, self-discipline and courage. It is one of the longest running CAS-CIAC events, honoring standout senior student athletes every year since 1984, but could not be held in person this year and last due to COVID-19 concerns.

Recipients from the Southern Connecticut Conference member schools:

Amity Regional - Allison Su / Jacob Silbert

Branford - Alisa Gueco / Sean McCarthy

Career Magnet - Christian Guaman / Hasfa Fazi Mohamed

Cheshire - Sarah Capute / Patrick James Cass

Daniel Hand - Joshua Israel / Anna Steffen

East Haven - Victoria Heaphy / Asa Meyers

Fairfield Prep - Caleb Bolden

Foran - Emma Davies / Benjamin Carlson

Guilford - Moira Kellaher / Anthony Ippolito

Hamden - John Wagner / Jessica Mele

Hillhouse - Leah Moore / Jeffrey Carmon

Jonathan Law - Catherine Burns / Edward Platonov

Lauralton Hall - Catherine McLaughlin / Quinlyn Elliott

Lyman Hall - Ellery Campbell / Jack Murphy

Mercy - Isabella Bartolomei / Alexa Boone

North Haven - Sofia Fappiano / Tanner Powell

Notre Dame-West Haven - Jacob Fleisher / Alexander Ozonoff

Sacred Heart Academy - Aliya Cameron / Mia Celentano

Sheehan - Gretchen Seibt / John Womelsdorf

Shelton - Elizabeth Porto / Robert Quevedo

West Haven - Selena Izzo / Hunter Axelrod

WIbur Cross - Simon Bazelon / Elina Murarka


Xavier - David Parker Hunter / Jake Lion


Follow The SCC

Upcoming Events

SCC Calendar

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa