Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Text Size

2017-18 CHSGHA All-State Team

Congratulations to the following student-athletes who earned All-State honors by the Connecticut High School Girls Ice Hockey Association in 2017-18.   The CHSGHA is overseen by the Southern Connecticut Conference and Fairfield County Inscholastic Athletic Conference and is comprised of 23 teams, representing 56 schools in the state.

Goalie: Julia SanGiovanni (Branford/East Haven/NB), Carina Mancini (Daniel Hand/Coginchaug), Blythe Novick (New Canaan), Jess Aselin (Greenwich)

Forwards: Taylor Nowak (West Haven/SHA), Grace Melanson (Simsbury), Sophie Lupone (Suffield), Anna Tittmann (Suffield/Housatonic), Emmy Norton (Branford/EH/North Branford), Cally Dixon (Amity/NH/Cheshire), Shea Van den Broek (Darien), Liz McCarthy (New Canaan), Jen Kelly (Greenwich), Sophia Mughal (Fairfield Ludlowe), Erin Owens (St. Joseph),

Defense: Katherine Sadak (Mercy/NW Catholic), Veronica Lynn (West Haven/SHA), Tori Geaglone (Suffield/Enfield), Kiki Tropsa (Darien), Jen Piotrzowski (Greenwich), Sydney Orszulak (Greenwich), Jess Eccelston (New Canaan)m Julianna Constantinople (Branford/East Haven/NB)


2018 Connecticut Girls High School Ice Hockey State Playoffs

2018 CHSGHA State Tournament Results

Top four seeds (#1 Greenwich, #2 Darien, #3 New Canaan, #4 Suffield co-op get first round byes)


First Round – Feb. 26-27 @Higher Seeds

#5 Amity/North Haven/Cheshire co-op 4, #12 Daniel Hand/Old Lyme 0 (Feb. 27)

#6 West Haven/Sacred Heart Academy co-op 4, #11 Hall/Conard 0

#10 Simsbury 4, #7 Hamden 1 (Feb. 27)

#8 Branford/East Haven/NB co-op 6, #9 NW Catholic/Mercy 3 (Feb. 27)

Quarterfinals – March 3 @Higher Seeds

#8 Branford/East Haven/NB 4, #1 Greenwich 1

#2 Darien 3, #10 Simsbury 0 

#3 New Canaan 2, #6 West Haven/Sacred Heart Academy co-op 0

#4 Suffield co-op 3, #5 Amity/NH/Cheshire co-op 2 

Semifinals – Friday, March 9 @Shelton Rinks

#2 Darien 3, #3 New Canaan 1

#4 Suffield co-op 7, #8 Branford/EH/NB 0

Championship Game – Sunday, March 11 – 4 p.m. @Bennett Rink

Darien 5, Suffield co-op 2




Suffield, West Haven/SHA Wins SCC Girls Ice Hockey Titles


2018 Southern Connecticut Conference Girls Ice Hockey Playoffs

NORTH DIVISION (4 teams qualify)

Semifinals – Monday, Feb. 19 @Higher Seeds

#1 Suffield co-op 4, #4 Simsbury 1

#3 Northwest Catholic/Mercy co-op 2, #1 Hall/Conard co-op 2

Championship Game – Friday, Feb. 23 @Koeppel Rink – Trinity College – 8:30 p.m.

#1 Suffield co-op 4, #3 NW Catholic/Mercy 1

Tournament Most Outstanding Player: Sophia Lupone, Suffield


SOUTH DIVISION (6 teams qualify)

First Round – Monday, Feb. 19 @Higher Seeds

#3 Amity/Cheshire/North Haven co-op 3, #6 Daniel Hand co-op 2

#5 Notre Dame-Fairfield co-op 2, #4 Branford/East Haven/North Branford co-op 0

Semifinals – Wednesday, Feb. 21 @Higher Seeds

#1 West Haven/Sacred Heart Academy co-op 3, #5 ND-Fairfield co-op 0

#2 Hamden 3, #3 Amity/Cheshire/North Haven co-op 2 (2 OT) 

Championship Game – Saturday, Feb. 24 @Bennett Rink 

#1 West Haven/Sacred Heart Academy co-op 4, #2 Hamden 3

Tournament Most Outstanding Player: Megan Froehlich, West Haven/SHA

Click here for championship game story in New Haven Register/GameTimeCT.com


2017-18 SCC Girls Ice Hockey League Divisional Alignment

The SCC Girls Ice Hockey League will have a new divisional alignment for 2017-18.  The league will be divided into two divisions - North and South - taking advantage of geography and new teams that have joined the conference.


SCC North (play 10 counting games -- 2 games (home/away) versus each division opponent)

Simsbury, East Catholic/Glastonbury/South Windsor co-op, Hall/Conard co-op, Northwest Catholic/Mercy co-op, Avon/Southington co-op (new) and Suffield/Granby/Enfield/Housatonic (new)

SCC South (play 8 counting games -- 1 game against each division opponent)

Hamden, West Haven/Sacred Heart Academy co-op, Amity Regional/Cheshire/North Haven co-op, Branford/East Haven/North Branford co-op, Daniel Hand/Coginchaug/Old Lyme co-op, Guilford, Notre Dame of Fairfield/Foran/Jonathan Law/Weston co-op, Masuk/Joel Barlow/Newtown/Oxford (first varsity season) and Lauralton Hall

League Playoffs (there will be 2 tournaments -- North and South)

The top four teams in the North Division will earn playoff berths, while the top six in the South Division will earn playoff berths.


Updated Connecticut State Girls Ice Hockey Rankings




Follow The SCC

Follow SCCcommissioner on Twitter icon_facebook

Upcoming Events

SCC Calendar

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa